Fred Mitchell
Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Mitchell has more than 30 years in the medical diagnostic, device and therapeutic fields, with a focus on delivering products and services benefiting patients, caregivers and providers. Early in his carreer he managed an acute care hospital chemistry lab, where he was recruited to industry and spent the following 14 years at Bayer Diagnostics in product, systems and people management. His experience extends to lifescience and medical device development, engineering and manufacturing, into the veterinary diagnostics and vital signs monitoring market and into the rapid diagnostic lateral flow market. Mr. Mitchell's experience includes managing direct and third-party distribution channel models and includes medical insurance reimbursement and formulary approval processes for federal and private pay systems. He has start-up and small company experience as well. Prior to coming to Galaxy, he led a biotechnology startup through the recession of 2008 to a non-dilutive product licensing funding event supporting continued product research and development.

Jeffrey Olson, MD
Chief Science Officer

Dr. Olson, Galaxy’s Founder and CSO, is a Board Certified Ophthalmologist specializing in Vitreoretinal Disease and Surgery. He focuses on the medical and surgical management of retinal diseases such as macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy, retinal detachment, diabetic eye diseases, retinal vascular occlusion, uveitis, proliferative vitreoretinopathy and more. He received his doctorate from the University of Colorado, Denver Health Sciences Center where he also performed his Residency and Fellowship in Vitreoretinal Diseases and Surgery. Dr. Olson is an Associate Professor at the University Of Colorado School Of Medicine, Ophthalmology specializing on Vitreoretinal Diseases and Surgery. He practices direct patient care at the UCHealth Eye Center at the University of Colorado – Anschutz and at the Denver VA Medical Center. Dr. Olson is the recipient of numerous grants and awards, including the Honor Award from the American Society of Retinal Specialists (2014), Research Incentive Award in Retinal from the PanAmerican Ophthalmological Foundation (2013), Inventor of the Year from the University of Colorado (2012).